Search form

Last updated: 24 sec ago

You are here


Fahad, Turki win SGBS Texas Scramble tourney

SGBS (Saudi Golf Business Society) held back-to-back tournaments to close 2012 at Dirab Golf & Country Club and ring in the new year recently.
Winning the two-ball Texas Scramble format competition that followed the stroke play event after a gap of two weeks was the pair of Fahad Almansour, vice president of SGBS, and young Saudi golfer Turki Hussain.
Almansour and Hussain, with a team handicap of 3, posted a net score of 65 to win the tournament that attracted 20 teams and 40 golfers.
Almansour carried the team to victory by holing four birdies, three of them on the back nine. For his part, Hussain had two birdies and two bogeys in the team’s 34-34 round.
Turki’s brother Adullah partnered with Filipino Danny Naval to win second place on countback from Lee William and his junior partner Jal Han Kim after both sides finished on 68. Abdullah and Naval played off 5 handicap and William-Hall off 6.
James Wilkinson and Tariq Khan and the tandem of Jose Vigil and Mike Jones actually also managed 68s to claim the fourth and fifth positions respectively.
Wilkinson was the winner of the longest drive award while Turki claimed the nearest to pin plum.
SGBS President Abdullah Al-Masoud handed over prizes to the winners during the prize distribution ceremony.
Formed in March last year, SGBS aims to promote golf among youngsters in Saudi Arabia, support charity projects and build business links through golf.
As the year drew to a close, SGBS organized a Thursday afternoon stroke play tournament that attracted 40 players.
The Best Gross and Best Net winners were the father-and-son tandem of M. S. Kim and Jan Hal Kim, who shot 74 and 71 respectively.
Almansour and his younger brother Abdulrahman finished second and third in Best Gross category on 73 and 79.
Shahid Rabani and Juan Rosado rounded out the first three Best Net winners on countback after both players returned 74.
The longest drive award went to Rusty Dagget and the closest to pin accolade to taekwondo master Kim.