Search form

Last updated: 30 min 48 sec ago

You are here


India’s veterans to miss out on CT

NEW DELHI: India left out opener Virender Sehwag, off-spinner Harbhajan Singh and swing bowler Zaheer Khan yesterday from its provisional squad of 30 players for the Champions Trophy in June.
The 34-year-old Sehwag, who has played 251 one-day internationals since his debut in 1999, was dropped for the ODI home series against England in January and the last two games of a subsequent four-Test home series against Australia.
Harbhajan and Khan will also miss the June 6-23 tournament in England after being excluded from the squad. Harbhajan has been in indifferent form in recent months while Zaheer has failed to return to the national side after recovering from a calf injury.
Cheteshwar Pujara, India’s new Test batting star, was overlooked despite showing he can score quickly in Test and domestic cricket.
Captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni, all-rounder Yuvraj Singh and batsman Suresh Raina are in the squad and look certain to be picked in the final 15, which will be announced one month before the tournament.
Experienced batsman Gautam Gambhir will compete with Murali Vijay and Shikhar Dhawan for the openers’ slots. Unmukt Chand, India’s Under-19 World Cup-winning captain from last year, is another top order batsman in the squad.
The squad: Gautam Gambhir, Murali Vijay, Shikhar Dhawan, Unmukt Chand, Virat Kohli, Yuvraj Singh, Suresh Raina, Rohit Sharma, Manoj Tiwary, Ajinkya Rahane, Ambati Rayudu, Kedar Jadhav, Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Wriddhiman Saha, Dinesh Karthik, Ravichandran Ashwin, Amit Mishra, Ravindra Jadeja, Jalaj Saxena, Parvez Rasool, Ishant Sharma, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ashok Dinda, Umesh Yadav, Shami Ahmed, Irfan Pathan, Vinay Kumar, Praveen Kumar, Ishwar Pandey, Sidharth Kaul.