Search form

Last updated: 53 min 16 sec ago

You are here


Ten teams clash today in 5 final matches in 1st Filipino Community Basketball League

Action from the semifinal game Brawlers vs. Sharbatly Fruits. (AN photos)
Best Player of the game Anthony Villegas with FCBL Commissioner Robert Jose.
JEDDAH: For basketball fans, all roads lead to Sheraton Jeddah Hotel Sport Complex court for a super Friday of five championship matches in the 1st Filipino Community Basketball League (FCBL) Basketball Tournament.
The mouth-watering no-tomorrow games beginning at 5 p.m. were set after the semifinal knockout matches at the weekend.
Easily the “most intense and best match for this season” according to the FCBL website was the Sharbatly Fruits-Brawlers in Division C3. Sharbatly won 102-99 in double overtime Friday with eventual Best Player Orna scoring a game-high 41 points. Enad and Sanchez each added 19 points. Regulation period ended 84-all and the first overtime 91-all.
The third seed team in the semis, Sharbatly will be up against top qualifier Jeddah Hilton in the knockout final match. Jeddah Hilton qualified for the championship with a 71-58 hammering of Tripol Ace in Thursday’s semifinal.
The centerpiece Division A Open Rated championship will feature the Syriana-IKK of Hassan Zeineidin against Cris Melebo’s Kabayan Gents who advanced to the all-important tussle by beating SMDC in a knockout game.
Coach Zeineidin is looking at a potential championship double with his Dar Jana squad in the Division C Pool 1 up against Jimmy Abdullah Beltran’s Abdul Latif Jameel United Finance (ALJUF) in another title clash.
Dar Jana, whose only defeat in the eliminations was against ALJUF, survived Jollibee 86-84 in a tough semifinal Friday while ALJUF brought down King Fahad Armed Forces Hospital 97-81 in their side of the semis Friday where Anthony Villegas was named Best Player of the game with 27 points. Gino Cilot added 21 points and Lupac 13 for the No. 1 seed ALJUF.
Interestingly, ALJUF and Dar Jana are the top two sides in the division.
In Division B Reinforced Rated, it will be ALJ-FedEx against Tamimi-Brethren for the crown. ALJ-FedEx, bannered by the trio of Villegas, Paul Taguba and Montano Dela Cruz who scored 34, 19 and 11 points in that order, defeated Al-Muhaidib-Solid North 78-74 in a semifinal matchup of Nos. 1 and 2 teams Friday. Tamimi crushed SMDC 105-81 in Thursday’s semis.
AVK Pioneers, who enjoyed a good run in the tournament, hope to put the icing on the victory cake when they play Falcunit for the Division C Pool 2 championship.
AVK and Falcunit had contrasting final four wins on their way to the final. AVK defeated Holdup Boyz by 80-70 Thursday while Falcunit overpowered Yummy Yummy 99-69.
Tournament sponsors are Soda Sports (PEAK) through Art Montiero, SMDC, Virgin Mobile and Yummy Yummy Restaurant.
Noel Miguel heads the Organizing Committee as president with Robert Jose as commissioner.
With Miguel and Jose in the Organizing Committee is Tournament Director Jerry Lagrimas. Making up the Technical Committee are: Jess Sales, Zaldy Ramos and Willy Cartagena (play-by-play announcer).