Search form

Last updated: 9 min 48 sec ago

You are here


Dovizioso pips Marquez in stunning Austrian MotoGP

Ducati Team's Italian rider Andrea Dovizioso, center, and his team celebrate after winning the MotoGP Austrian Grand Prix race at Red Bull Ring in Spielberg, Austri, on Sunday. (AFP)
SPIPELBERG BEI KNITTELFELD, Austria: Andrea Dovizioso held off the hard-charging Marc Marquez to win a thrilling Austrian MotoGP Grand Prix for Ducati on Sunday.
World championship leader Marquez had started on pole but Italian Dovizioso got the better of an incredible battle where the lead changed hands several times, including twice on the final corner.
Three-time world champion Marquez’s Honda teammate and compatriot Dani Pedrosa came third.
Dovizioso’s third win of the season moved him up to second behind Marquez in the standings, 16 points back, as Spaniard Maverick Vinales dropped to third after finishing only sixth.
That was one place above his Yamaha team-mate and seven-time world champion Valentino Rossi of Italy.
Dovizioso had started second on the grid but dropped to third as his Ducati team-mate and three-time world champion Jorge Lorenzo jumped from third to first at the start.
Dovizioso, who was second in Austria to his then team-mate Andrea Iannone last year, took advantage of the battle between Marquez and Lorenzo to snatch the lead. Marquez also passed Lorenzo to launch a thrilling battle with Dovizioso.
The Spaniard seemed to have an edge in speed but every time he passed the Italian, usually after a daring and almost reckless lunge into a turn, his ice-cool rival quickly took back the lead.
Their battle allowed Pedrosa to close right in around six laps from the end but he couldn’t challenge for the victory and Dovizioso prevailed.
World championship results and standings after Sunday’s Austrian Grand Prix, the 11th of 18 rounds of the 2017 series:
1. Andrea Dovizioso (ITA/Ducati) 39min 43.323sec, 2. Marc Marquez (ESP/Honda) at 0.176sec, 3. Dani Pedrosa (ESP/Honda) 2.661, 4. Jorge Lorenzo (ESP/Ducati) 6.663, 5. Johan Zarco (FRA/Yamaha) 7.262, 6. Maverick Vinales (ESP/Yahaha) 7.447, 7. Valentino Rossi (ITA/Yahama) 8.995, 8. Alvaro Bautista (ESP/Aspar) 14.515, 9. Loris Baz (FRA/Avintia) 19.620 10. Mika Kallio (FIN/KTM) 19.766
Overall standings
1. Marc Marquez (ESP/Honda) 174, 2. Andrea Dovizioso (ITA/Ducati) 158, 3. Maverick Vinales (ESP/Yamaha) 150, 4. Valentino Rossi (ITA/Yamaha) 141, 5. Dani Pedrosa (ESP/Honda) 139, 6. Johann Zarco (FRA/Yamaha Tech3) 99, 7. Jorge Lorenzo (ESP/Ducati) 79, 8. Jonas Folger (GER/ Yahama Tech3) 77, 9. Cal Crutchlow (GBR/LCR Honda) 76, 10. Danilo Petrucci (ITA/Ducati Pramac) 75,
1. Franco Morbidelli (ITA/Kalex) 37mins 39.370sec, 2. Alex Marquez (ESP/Kalex) 1.312, 3. Thomas Lüthi (SUI/Kalex) 2.544, 4. Francesco Bagnaia (ITA/Kalex) 3.070, 5. Mattia Pasini (ITA/Kalex) 3.745, 6. Takaaki Nakagami (JPN/Kalex) 8.827, 7. Brad Binder (RSA/KTM) 9.018, 8. Jorge Navarro (ESP/Kalex) 13.692, 9. Dominique Ägerter (SUI/Suter) 14.955, 10. Hafizh Syahrin (MAL/Kalex) à 18.997
Overall standings
1. Franco Morbidelli (ITA/Kalex) 207, 2. Thomas Lüthi (SUI/Kalex) 181, 3. Alex Marquez (ESP/Kalex) 153, 4. Miguel Oliveira (POR/KTM) 133, 5. Francesco Bagnaia (ITA/Kalex) 100, 6. Mattia Pasini (ITA/Kalex) 84, 7. Takaaki Nakagami (JPN/Kalex) 79, 8. Simone Corsi (ITA/Speed Up) 68, 9. Dominique Ägerter (SUI/Suter) 57, 10. Luca Marini (ITA/Kalex) 54
1. Joan Mir (ESP/Honda) 37mins 23.124sec, 2. Philipp Oettl (GER/KTM) 3.045, 3. Jorge Martin (ESP/Honda) 3.377, 4. Livio Loi (BEL/Honda) 3.385, 5. Aron Canet (ESP/Honda) 3.502, 6. Fabio Di Giannantonio (ITA/Honda) 3.730, 7. Gabriel Rodrigo (ARG/KTM) 3.804, 8. Adam Norrodin (MAL/Honda) 4.183, 9. Jaume Masia (ESP/KTM) 4.310, 10. Enea Bastianini (ITA/Honda) 4.858
Overall standings
1. Joan Mir (ESP/Honda) 215 points, 2. Romano Fenati (ITA/Honda) 151, 3. Aron Canet (ESP/Honda) 137, 4. Jorge Martin (ESP/Honda) 105, 5. Fabio Di Giannantonio (ITA/Honda) 95, 6. John McPhee (GBR/Honda) 93, 7. Marcos Ramirez (ESP/KTM) 92, 8. Andrea Migno (ITA/KTM) 83, 9. Juanfran Guevara (ESP/KTM) 71, 10. Enea Bastianini (ITA/Honda) 65