Search form

Last updated: 2 min 25 sec ago

You are here


Red House overall champion in IISJ Annual Ahletic Meet

International Indian School Jeddah Boys section 9-12 Block held its Annual Athletic Meet on Thursday with zeal and spirit of sportsmanship.
Mohamad Ragib Quraishi, the head of the chancery and school observer was the chief guest. The chairman of the managing committee, Khursheed Akhtar, and other committee members graced the occasion.
Red House won the overall championship. The meet began with the recitation of the verses from the Holy Qur’an. The head boy of the school, Master Vazim Latheef, welcomed the gathering. The chief guest hoisted the school flag and the house flags were hoisted by the respective house masters.
The head boy led the marchpast with the chief guest taking the salute with marked briskness, agility and perfection. Rizwan Abdul Razzak, the sports secretary, administered the oath to the participants to respect the laws that govern the games and to participate in the true spirit of sportsmanship. The chief guest lit the sports flame and passed it over to Faris Ayoub the captain of the school athletic team who represented KSA for All India football championship. It was carried around the arena by Basim Mohammad Ismail and Nikhil Ramesh, the under 16 and under 19 individual champion respectively in the CBSE Cluster Meet last year.
The chief guest declared the Annual Athletic Meet open and various athletic events followed. A total of 617 young promising sportsmen participated in under 16 and under 19 categories representing Red, Blue, Yellow and Green Houses.
The highlights of the day were the staff and students’cabinet events — the tug of war — male staff versus students’cabinet and 200 meters students’ cabinet race .These exhilarating events were won by the staff under the captaincy of Ghous Mohiuddin, HOD of physical education department, while Vazim Latheef, the head boy of the school, came in first, Ayman Aslam, captain of Yellow House, second and Sachin Suresh, the cultural secretary, was the third in the captains only race.
Red House totaled 251 points in winning the overall championship trophy. Yellow House was the runner-up with 217points.
Nikhil Ramesh, of 12-B3 under 19 Green House, and Faizan Riyaz, of 10-B9 under 16 Yellow House, emerged as individual champions.
The winners were honored by the chief guest, chairman, members of management committee, principal, vice principals, controller of examination, administrative officer, HMs and house masters during the prize distribution ceremony.