Allen team triumphs in 2013 RGBB Open


Published — Sunday 24 February 2013

Last update 24 February 2013 3:05 am

| نسخة PDF Print News | A A

Another high turnout witnessed yet another close finish in the 2013 RGBB Open Championship recently. The event staged at Dirab Golf and Country Club for the fifth year saw 128 players battle for the title as strongly as ever before.
The four ball Texas Scramble format competition saw 32 teams fight for the coveted claret jugs on offer over two days of highly competitive golf.
The quality of the players participating combined with perfect playing conditions clearly had a significant effect as yet again a record number of teams shot below the par score of 72 on this challenging parkland course.
The Wednesday teams laid down a real challenge to their Thursday counterparts, with one eventually proving insurmountable. Overnight Godfrey Allen’s team led the way with net score of 55. Thursday’s teams took full advantage of the perfect weather conditions which had continued from the previous day and set about overhauling the impressive overnight score from the start.
The team of Mark Campbell really started strongly, with five birdies on their opening seven holes. They unfortunately failed to capitalize on this strong start as other teams grabbed birdies late on to lay their own claim to the title.
Despite the best efforts of the teams on Thursday the overnight lead of the Allen team that included Saad Al Othaibi, Eddie Lee and Shaun Temple remained uncontested. The winning team received their Claret jugs and international flights courtesy of Nasair from John Hymns from premier sponsor Selex ES at the awards ceremony.
In second place were Robin Williamson, Ben Pacey, Andrew McKechnie and Steve Parrott, who shot a 16 under 56. They each received SR 1,500 SR vouchers from Almutlaq stores to accompany their trophies; these were awarded by Almutlaq marketing executive Omar Al Bakri.
In third place with a score of 57 on a count back were Richard Salisbury, Phil Kavanagh, Orazio Moretti and David Corbett who all received tournament bags as their prize from Ali Akram from UPS.
The team of Peter Donkin, Ed Bulkeley, Clare Watts and Ian Wells who also shot a 57 settled for fourth place.
Fifth went to Mark Campbell, Phil Pannell, Ruhan De Kock and Nigel Davey, they came out on top of a 6-team tie for fifth place on the count back rule.
The tournament organized by Gary Richardson and his team for the fifth straight year was held over two days to accommodate the large number of players that entered the event.
The prizes for the longest drive for ladies division went to Clare Watts with Imran Qadir winning the men’s section. Closest to the pin on hole No. 4 was Stuart Halliday, with Patrick Kennedy closest on hole 7 for the second year in a row. Mark Campbell was nearest to the pin on hole 11, with Phil Kavanagh securing the title for hole 16.
The team longest putt was won by Paul Siffre, David Forster, Chris Innes-Hopkins and Mark Turner
The RGBB would like to thank everyone for helping make the event another huge success. RGBB would particularly like to thank the generous sponsors namely Selex ES, SABB, Volvo, First Motor Company, Almutlaq Furniture Group, UPS, British Airways, SIKA, American Express, Sheraton Riyadh Hotel & Towers, Almarai Co., Alyoum, Axa, Nasair, Hotel Al Khozama, Turnberry, Noble Smile, The RGBB Golf Society, Riyadh Village, Arabian Shield, and Dirab Golf & Country Club.

What's happening around Saudi Arabia

RIYADH: A number of parents have complained about the lack of hygiene in schools, expressing fears about the potential spread of the MERS virus with the beginning of the new academic year. This comes in the backdrop of another death due to the deadly...
JEDDAH: Disputes over sharing of property or inheriting family business are common. But Dhahran has witnessed an unusual fight among four brothers — over donating kidney to their youngest brother.Coincidentally, all the brothers were found fit to don...
RIYADH: The Ministry of Justice has quashed rumors over the recent acquittal of a man who had been charged with rape-murder of his five-year-old daughter, warning that anybody trying to defame the judiciary will face strict action, local media report...
JEDDAH: A market in Jeddah offers used clothes and other items, including foodstuff, at throwaway prices. However, the deal may be fraught with risks as the foodstuff could be out of date and the clothes infested with microbes. “Many of the items, es...
JEDDAH: A number of visually impaired citizens are expecting candidates to address their problems and make life easier for them after winning the Dec. 12 municipal elections.A section of these voters have also sought special programs so that they can...
RIYADH: The Ministry of Interior recently launched a series of training programs to upgrade the efficiency of its female staff as a new step to empower women and give them an opportunity to shine in security-related fields.Maha Frehi, the manager of...

Stay Connected